Louder than Words

By the wayside
I met a wandering soul
Eyes sunken, clothes shabby
Burnt by the scorching sun
I stopped and tried to speak to him
He offered all he had: A song
His voice was hoarse, his instrument twangy
I didn’t understand a word he bellowed
But the message was clear
I sing for those who listen

In a vineyard
Huge clusters above my head
A woman of no significance
Gestured when she caught my eye
Mimed she was taking a picture
I gave her my camera and stood
Once returned I acted out taking hers
She bashfully agreed
Nothing spoken
But something shared
Experiences happen if you let them

Leave a Reply

