Roven

When words fail to heal
And time doesn’t numb the pain
When darkness seems to obliterate
Any sense of feeling whole again
Give me humility, not anger

When the future hangs like a death sentence
And defending my motives are to no avail
When possibilities and regrets cloud my thoughts
Finding confidence to move ahead brings guilt
Give me faith, not sentiment

When the only way out is to back down
And there’s nothing left to do but clean up
When the chaos inside coincides with the mess outside
Staying clear of apathy can be detrimental
Give me empathy, not reason

When all is said and done
And everything we’ve built and broken is revealed
When only the memory of me carries on
In the slightest flicker on this spatial plain
Give me solace, not satisfaction

Leave a Reply

