The Awakening

If I had never laid eyes on you
seeing you wouldn’t have made any difference

If I hadn’t spent sleepless nights
trying to feed the desires you captivated
touching you wouldn’t have been cathartic

If I had never come this far
and given up at the first sign of failure
I’d never have looked into your eyes
or touched your face

I couldn’t go back to not knowing you
and all my unrest has magnified
for your presence is what I crave
your love, a safe harbour in my ocean.

Leave a Reply

